Copycat Amaretto Liqueur

I’m not sure where this recipe originated; I’ve had it in my collection for years, and have tweaked it to the following recipe.  I use Amaretto in anything I can get away with it – from cookies to chicken, cakes to marinades.  Here’s a bit of trivia for you:  Did you know that most commerical Amaretto is not made from actual almonds, but the almond’s relative – apricot pits?

AmarettoCopycat Amaretto

3/4 cup boiling water

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

Stir the sugars into the boiling water in a heat-proof glass bowl, and keep stirring until the sugars are dissolved.

1/2 cup corn syrup (if you use clear corn syrup or dark, it doesn’t matter – just adjust the food colouring*)

1 1/2 cups Vodka (I use 80-proof, and the least expensive I can find as it’s a purely alcoholic base)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 Tbs. almond extract

Stir in the corn syrup and then the vodka and flavorings and stir.

Store in a sealed bottle – I use a a swing bottle, or a formerly “real” Amaretto bottle.  I would avoid cork bottles, as the fumes from the alcohol tend to eat into the cork after awhile.

* If you want an authentic colour, add food colouring to get that golden-brown colour:  2-3 drops of yellow plus 1-2 drops of blue = green, and then 5-6 drops of red will get you to brown.

I once stopped at the green phase, and served it as “Froschlikoer” – “Frog Liqueur,” and made labels with frogs on them!  Unfortunately I don’t have any photos of that phase of cheekiness…

UP NEXT TIME:  Copycat Vanilla Extract, and Almond Extract

Leave a Reply

