Malaysian Salted Soy Bean & Cashew Chicken

I haven’t post in a while; during my summer holidays I sustained an injury that’s taking quite some time to let me get back to normal; I haven’t had energy to do a lot of cooking, so we’ve been supporting our local restaurants!  If you’re curious to know what happened, just click here.

Salted Soy BeansThe dish I’d like to share with you today is one I’ve made for years; it all started when a friend from Malaysia was visiting, and we went to an Asian supermarket together; she pointed to the jar pictured and said, “Oh, that’s good!  One of my favourite dishes!”  So I bought it; when we got home, I asked her how it was fixed, and she said, “Oh, no idea – my mother always did it!”  So we fiddled around to recreate her mother’s dish, and this is the result.  It’s very simple, though the right ingredients are essential; a jar of this can be stored in the refrigerator once opened, and will keep ages, as it’s salted.

Because it’s so salty, very little is required; if you need to stretch the meal, add lintels, tofu, more chicken or cashews, and an addition of neutral ingredients such as bamboo sprouts or water chestnuts.

Malaysian Salted Soy Bean & Cashew Chicken

800 gr. chicken meat, diced
~2 – 3 Tbs. salted soy beans (can be found in an Asian supermarket)
cashew nuts, about 1-2 cups (amount to taste)
onions, diced
sesame oil
Jasmine rice

In a bowl, take a spoon and smash the soy beans into a paste.  Saute the onions & meat together in a bit of sesame oil. When meat begins to brown, stir in the mashed soy beans, & then the cashew nuts (cook just until tender, but still a bit crunchy). Serve on top of boiled rice.

If it’s too dry, add cream or coconut milk to the cooking process.

Leave a Reply

