Homemade Lip Balm

This was made here recently by the young woman living with us at the moment; it turned out really well, and I have a small pot of it sitting next to my computer that I use regularly.  The texture is smooth, and it’s long-lasting.  You may never want to buy lip balm again!

(illustration from wwwfoodrenegade.com)

(illustration from wwwfoodrenegade.com)

Homemade Lip Balm

1 oz. Beeswax
5 oz. Almond oil (or coconut, or olive oil)
1 Tbs. Honey
4 drops essential oil or extract (choose your favourite flavour)

Melt the beeswax in a pan over boiling water; remove from heat. Stir in the other ingredients, pour into storage containers and allow to cool.

[The cosmetic-grade beeswax “droplets” (I wouldn’t recommend using an old beeswax candle you’ve had standing around…) can either be found in a health food store or a pharmacy, as can the cosmetic-grade almond oil and essential oil.  For storage containers, I used small travel containers that originally had face cream in them; I keep such things for just such occasions.  Otherwise, look for small containers at your local shop, or improvise – be creative!]

5 thoughts on “Homemade Lip Balm

  1. I love lip balm but have never tried making it myself before!

  2. I just use a bit of clarified butter (ghee), something that is found in many Indian homes. 🙂

Leave a comment